Town GovernmentTown DepartmentsOur CommunityDoing BusinessHelp Center
Click to Home
Go To Search
The Town Secretary serves as the Elections Administrator for the Town. Currently the Town contracts with the Dallas County Elections Department for administration and coordination of any regular or special Town Elections. 

Town Council Elections are held annually on the second Saturday of May.

Voter registration information can be found by visiting the Dallas County Elections Department.

The residents of the Town of Sunnyvale elected to adopt a Home Rule Charter on May 11, 2013. Please see the FAQs and Fact Sheet for more information.

The May 9, 2015, General Election will be for Mayor and Places 5 and 6 on the Town Council.  The elected officials for Places 5 and 6, shall hold their office for a period of three years from May 2015 to May 2018, and the Mayor shall hold the office for a period of two years from May 2015 to May 2017.

The Town will also hold a Special Election to fill a vacancy. Upon Ronnie Henderson Jr.'s filing as a candidate for the Mayor position, he resigned his seat in Place 3.  While Mr. Henderson will continue to serve in Place 3 until the election is final, the Council was required to order a Special Election to fill a vacancy.  Those interested in serving on the Town Council should review the Candidate Packet.  Applications for a place on the ballot for the special election must be returned to the Town Secretary no later than 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, March 25th.

Town voters will be choosing from the candidates below for the General Election. Special Election candidates will be listed on Thursday, March 26th.

Ronnie Henderson Jr.
Jim Phaup

Place 5 (Uncontested):
Karen Hill

Place 6 (Uncontested):
Chris McNeill